Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

I read The Time Traveler’s Wife a long time ago, long ago enough that when I watched the movie, I did not really notice anything missing from it.  I do, however, remember being captivated by the characters, and really getting emotionally involved in the story.

This is why I find it to be no surprise that I was drawn into Her Fearful Symmetry within the first few pages.  It is another story of love, but this time between twin sisters, and how trying to force them together can tear them apart.

Valentina & Julia are mirror twins, meaning their bodies mirror each other.  Where Julia’s heart is on her left, Valentina’s is on her right and so on.  They are happily drifting through life, not really picking any direction, when their Aunt in London, England passes away and leaves them everything.

Once in London, they encounter Martin, the upstairs neighbour with an extreme case of OCD, and Robert, the neighbour below who was also their dead Aunt Elspeth’s boyfriend.  The also meet, and learn to live with the ghost of their Aunt, who they did not know while she was living, due to a falling out with their mother, her twin.

At risk of giving away too much of the story, I definitely recommend Her Fearful Symmetry, just don’t blame me if you do not like the outcome of the story, I wasn’t happy with it either.  Even though I enjoyed the journey of getting there.

One thought on “Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Leave a Reply

