Life Needs Balance

I haven’t been posting as much lately, which is odd, because there is so much going on in my life that writing things down in a blog might make dealing with them easier.

My grandfather is still in the hospital.  He has good days and bad days, there was a stretch where he was refusing to eat, and was not cooperating with my mom & aunts at all, or the nurses.  My mom told me to prepare for the worst, and if I wanted to go and see him another time before things got really bad, I might want to go sooner rather than later.  So, after crying for 2 hours Sunday night, I went to visit him Monday after work.  He was awake, he was cheerful, and he was hungry.  He actually ate the entire time I was there, all while telling me stories about coming to Canada in 1948 from Ukraine.  So for now, it’s still a day-to-day sort of thing, but at least I spent some time with him, on a good day.

But, back up to Friday night.

This past weekend I took a break from all the normal parts of my life and went to a cottage with a group of girls to celebrate Melissa’s list fling before the ring, as she is getting married September 11.  I cannot make it to the wedding, so I didn’t dare miss this party.

Anytime I show up at a party and there is a candy buffet, I know I am in for a good time, and the diet is out the window for the next few days.   Both proved to be true.

That, right there, that’s my friend Michelle.  We go WAY back, I’ve known her since she was about 3 years old, and I don’t get to see her enough these days.  This girl has been known to make me laugh so hard it hurts.  I need to see her more!

Some more highlights – (1) Champagne (2) a toast to the bride (3) Michelle, myself, and Tausha (4) the bridal party (5) pretty napkins (6) playing ‘give and take’ that’s not the official name, but I don’t know what it is (7) penis cupcakes (8) jello shooters and (9) attempted human pyramid.

Thank you ladies, this past weekend was exactly what I needed.

Take a knee………………

Or you’ll have to run sand circles.

Leave a Reply

