At last, a move update

Sunday was a LONG and HOT day.  We woke up at about 7:00am and began to finish packing Scott’s belongings at his apartment, mind you there really wasn’t much left to pack, just a few essentials and the bed.  At around 8:30 I went back to my parents place to finish up with my room, and had to carry everything downstairs to get ready to load onto the trailer and into the back of pick-up trucks.  There was a moment when Scott looked at me like I was insane and said, we will NEVER fit all of this into our apartment.   Oh, how I laughed.  Silly boy, doesn’t he know that living with a girl involves them bringing stuff, and sometimes lots of it, into the equation.  I told him just to take a deep breath and relax, I knew it would all work out just fine (and it did by the way).

By around 11:30 we were on the road to Newmarket, roughly an hour long drive from my parents house (pause to cry a little).  As soon as we were here, we unloaded my Aunt Mary & Uncle Don’s truck (they were super sweet to offer to help us move when it was 30+ degrees outside) and I took off to find a beer store, something very important when people are helping you move for free.  From what I can remember, we had everything unloaded by around 2:00, and that included a pizza break.

While the boys were assembling furniture, putting the bed together etc, Aunt Mary, Mom and I cleaned the kitchen cupboards and started to unpack a little so we could at least move around in the kitchen.  Then, slowly, my family left, and I have to say I am really proud of both myself and my mom for not crying at all…..I don’t know how she was on the drive home, but I personally did not cry until Monday morning, and over the placement of a bookcase of all things.  It’s funny the items you bring from home that make you feel the most comforted, I couldn’t handle my bookcase being out in the sun porch, I needed to be able to see it when sitting on the couch.  Thankfully, Scott completely understood my irrationality, and moved it into the house for me.

And now, because pictures speak louder than words, some photo’s of our new home, there will be some changes in the future, but for now, I’m pretty comfortable here.

This is one side of our kitchen, I didn’t think to take a picture of the side with the fridge, but we do have one, and lots more cupboards!  See those really high up ones, I will almost never put anything in there on account of not being able to reach with out standing on a chair.

This is again, only one view of the living room, eventually, when I have a chance to go to Ikea, there will be a really awesome painting above the couch as well.  When I paint the room I will be sure to post pictures of all the sides, we also have a desk and the tv in here.

Our gigantic main bathroom, a work in progress, it needs painting badly, we aren’t really fond of the bright red wall that you cannot see in this picture.  I realize now, I should have either taken this picture during the day, or used my tripod, sorry for the blurryness!

The bedroom looking towards the road.  It’s such a big room, but it feels cozy somehow.  Maybe it’s because we have the worlds most awesome bed.

And a view of the other side, note the awesome fireplace!  No, it does not work, but it looks cool.

So, a big thanks to EVERYONE who helped us get here, we would have been lost without you all!

2 thoughts on “At last, a move update

Leave a Reply

