Wipe-off Weekly Menu

In an effort to stay on budget, and be better organized, we sit down on the weekend and plan out our dinners for the following week.  This was when we go out we can pick up the ingredients we need and avoid those annoying mid-week runs to the store for 1 or 2 items.  It will also help us avoid having food go into the compost bin, and essentially wasting our money.

Until last night this was our method of tracking the menu:

Boring, ugly and just plain old not my style.  I’m not a huge fan of things stuck to the refrigerator door, it can quickly lead to the kitchen looking messy.  I also wanted something that looked a little nicer in the kitchen.  So, off I went on a trip to Michael’s to buy some supplies.

  • 12 x 12 picture frame
  • Different scrapbook papers, to change the look every now and then
  • Alphabet stickers

After drawing some lines to make sure my words would be straight (if you can eyeball a straight line, you are a better person than I) and sticking letters down like crazy while watching ‘Modern Family’ the end result looked a little like this when I hung it on the wall.

Much nicer!  For reasons unknown to me, I could not take a straight picture to save my life last night.  Scott’s reaction: “I feel like we live in a restaurant”.

If only, then there would be someone else to take care of the cooking.

Idea originally seen on Make And Takes

Leave a Reply

