‘Tis the season for pumpkin

It’s here!  The crisp air in the mornings, the need to unpack your coats, and the smell of pumpkin spiced everything at Starbucks.  And while, I enjoy the occasional treat from Starbucks, let’s be honest, it’s just not in the budget as an everyday kinda thing.

So, I have been trying to find an at-home fix for this very seasonal craving.  My first attempt was Pumpkin Spice Latte Baked Oatmeal from Healthy Tipping Point.  Not something I enjoyed.  While I like to eat oatmeal in the morning, this just wasn’t my cup of oats, but it sure looked appealing.  I may have to revisit this recipe and play around with the ingredients a little.

Second attempt, huge success.

Introducing Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread.

Oh mama, this was fantastic, and it added that amazing baking smell to the whole house, just made me feel warm and cozy inside.  Because it’s just Scott and I, and he doesn’t like pumpkin anything (his loss, my gain) I chose to bake mini-loaves.  This way I wouldn’t be tempted to eat the whole loaf at once, and there would be some in the freezer for weeks when I am low on time to bake, or to take and share with friends.

Le Recipe.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp salt
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/3 cup water
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease loaf pan, or mini-loaf pans and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, cloves, ginger, and salt until thoroughly blended.  In a small bowl, whisk the eggs and water together.  Add the sugar and whisk until combined.  Then add the pumpkin puree, vegetable oil, and vanilla and whisk until blended.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk until combined.  Gently mix in the chocolate chips.

Pour the mixture into the pan(s) and bake.  55-60 minutes for full loaf, 40-45 for mini-loaves, or until a toothpick comes out clean all the way through.  Cool on rack for 10 min, then remove bread from pans and cool completely.

Adapted from: First Look, Then Cook

I think the next time I make this, I am going to try substituting the vegetable oil with apple sauce, should prove to be just as yummy.

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the season for pumpkin

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipes. I`m definitely going to try this one. I have found such a love for cooking, so it`s nice to see what other people are trying 🙂

  2. Pingback: Care packages «

Leave a Reply

