In a funk

It’s that time of the year again, the days are shorter, it’s dark when I leave for work, and it’s dark shortly after I get home.  This happens every year, yet it always seems to come as a shock to me, but this year it seems to be a little bit worse.  This year I can barely drag myself out of bed when my alarm goes off, I have no energy, I go to bed early because I’m exhausted, and my creativity is almost nill.

Perhaps it’s the fact that I have moved away from my friends & family, it’s only an hour, but it means not seeing them during the week.  Perhaps it’s the fact that with fall comes annual budgets at work, which usually results in some lay-offs.  Could the constant threat of losing my job be getting me down?

Whatever it is, I am going to pull myself out of it.

This weekend I am going to spend some time with a great group of women that have come into my life over the past few years.  This weekend I will hang out with my best friend, hopefully.  This weekend is Halloween, but it is also my Mom’s birthday, there is much to be thankful for, and I am hoping that by sitting back and taking it all in, I will be able to snap out of this funk and get back my old self.

2 thoughts on “In a funk

  1. Dear Miss Funk…

    Please do cheer up! We miss u in these neck of the woods, but for real nothing exciting happens during the week anyway! We will make it a point to see each other this weekend and then have a super fun girly day on Tuesday…yay for wholesalers!
    You know I’m here anytime, always if u need a chat! Hope your day gets a little brighter!

    Love ya,
    Your best friend

Leave a Reply

