Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies

I baked cookies last night.

Surprise, surprise.

These were for S to take to work to share with his co-workers, cause I’m nice like that.  I also couldn’t get to Bulk Barn to get what I needed to finish my gingerbread, it was STILL snowing in Newmarket and I wasn’t attempting to drive anywhere.  Hopefully I can finish those tonight, but, weather will be the deciding factor.

So until those are finished, I will not be posting them.  These will have to tide you over, I am also planning something special for the return of my good friend Angela, who is coming home from Holland for a 3 week visit.  She’ll be home for my birthday!

Best present ever 😀

Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies

2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp coarse salt
1 cup butter, room temperature
1 3/4 cup sugar, divided
2 large eggs
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp chili powder (I think I will increase this to 1 tsp next time)

Preheat oven to 400, with racks in middle.  In a medium bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.  In a large bowl beat together butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar until light & fluffy.  Add the eggs and beat to combine.  Gradually add flour mixture and beat until combined.

In a small bowl, combine remaining sugar, cinnamon and chili powder. Using heaping tablespoons, form balls of dough and roll in sugar mixture.  Place about 3″ apart on parchment lined cookie sheets.  Bake until cookies are set in center and begin to crack, about 10 min.

Cool on wire racks.

Enjoy.

Original recipe from Martha Stewart, apparently, she DOES have some recipes that are easy!

Leave a Reply

