How It All Began

Scott and I met officially on June 3, 2006.  But we had been talking online for a few week, you see, we met on Lavalife.

Meeting someone online is something I think our parent’s generation will never fully understand, but in this high-tech social media world we live in, it’s becoming more and more common.  My best friend met her hubby online, just a few months after Scott and I met.

Let me put this out there right now, when I first met Scott, I was not interested in a relationship.  I was just looking to meet some new people, a lot of my friends were still away at school, and I was tired of being lonely.  So I thought we would go out that first night, and then maybe just hang out as friends, but isn’t it always true, that when you stop looking, you find what you’ve been looking for?

Our first date was ultra-casual.

We went to the spring fair (my idea) for the tractor-pull and the beer tent (see, clearly I didn’t think this was going to turn into anything serious).  We went on some rides, walked through the petting zoo, and hung out in the beer tent, watched some VERY loud tractors and went back into the beer tent.  Then the evening was over and we went to get a coffee, because of the beer tent.  As we were saying goodnight, I thought to myself, I could handle another date with this guy.

He called the next day.  We went out for dinner that night.

And the rest, as the say, is history.

 

One of our engagement photo's

 

 

2 thoughts on “How It All Began

Leave a Reply

