Drawing the Line

It had to be done, we needed to sit down and finalize the guest list for the wedding before we could move forward with a lot of decisions.  Also, my mom and maid-of-honour needed the list for shower invitations.  The problem I was having was, not knowing when to say enough.

I am, by nature, a people pleaser.

I am well aware of this, and it’s often why I find myself under stress, because I have a hard time saying ‘no’ when someone asks something of me.  This came into play huge when creating our guest list for the wedding, and it quickly ballooned from the attempted 100 guests, to 136.  I knew I needed to make some cuts.  I didn’t want the venue to be over-crowded, and I didn’t want to spend our entire budget on dinner alone.

Where do I make the cuts?  How do I deal with breaking it to people that they are not, in fact, invited?  I just don’t want to hurt people’s feelings.

We decided to invite the people that we still see on a regular basis, and yes, this means that I had to cut some of my friends from the list, I can only hope that they will understand.

It wasn’t easy!

Leave a Reply

