That Time of Year

It’s that time of year again.

I don’t mean Valentine’s Day, I mean annual performance review time.

Here’s the thing.  I have been working in the publishing industry for almost 7 years now, and have gotten some awesome opportunities and built my resume up quite nicely.  And then the economy went south and publishing suffered.

When manufacturing is down, clients don’t buy ads, book sizes go down, books shut down all together, people get laid off.  This was brought up yesterday during my review with my boss.

I have been fortunate to survive 2 rounds of layoffs so far, but, it has been mentioned to us several times that our department is over-staffed and there will probably be some changes coming soon to fix that.  Meaning, more layoffs.

I don’t think it takes a member of Mensa to figure out, that this has brought employee morale to an all-time low.  It’s exhausting worrying about your job security all the time.  There was a period of a few weeks where I wasn’t sleeping because I was laying in bed playing the “what-if” game.

What if I get laid off?  Can we really afford it?  Should we not go on a honeymoon just in case?

It was making me sick to my stomach.

Then, I decided that whatever happens, is going to happen, no matter how much I worry about it.  All I can do is do my job to the best of my ability and hope for the best.

That, and update my resume.

Thanks for letting me vent.  It helps with the worry.


ps. Week 1 of Booty Camp is complete, and while I feel like I was hit by 100 trucks I am LOVING it!

Leave a Reply

