Why losing my job was the best thing that could have happened to me

Also known as, longest post title ever.

On March 1st, I had one of the worst days ever.  I got laid off.  Now, I didn’t LOVE that job, in fact I was downright fed-up with it.  We had been hearing about lay-offs for almost a year, and it was completely ruining morale around the office, to the point where you dreaded going in.  Everyone was miserable, I didn’t ever feel challenged, most days I didn’t even feel productive.  But it was a paycheck, provided benefits, and it was somewhere to go every day.  The paycheck was what upset me most, we were only 4 months away from the wedding at that point, and had just bought plane tickets to Paris, now we were down to a single income household.  I panicked for about 10 minutes, until I was reminded that I hated that job, and everything would work out in the end.

I went home and decided to not do anything for a while, and that lasted all of 2 days before I was completely bored.  So I made Scott’s mom some birthday cookies, and then I made some more birthday cookies for my best-friend and all of a sudden, my still to be named cookie-venture, was born.  Since then, I have sold roughly 20 dozen cookies, all through word of mouth, not bad for not really trying.

But I missed having somewhere to go, I like working, I like it even more at a job I enjoy.  I contacted a previous boss that I had managed to stay in touch with in the 4 years I had been gone from her company, to see if she might know of anything coming up that would be a good fit for me, and before I knew it, she was offering me a position to work with her again.  I grabbed it up as quick as can be!  Was it strange going back to a company I had left 4 years earlier?  a  little bit, but only for about a week, and then it was back to normal.  I finally felt challenged again, was actually BUSY at work, and was working on publications that A) people had heard of and B) I had an actual interest in. Fast forward 3 months when I was finished the production cycle on the biggest magazine I had ever worked on, and came out of it smiling, when I got perhaps the best news I could have ever hoped for.

The girl who’s maternity leave I was covering decided that coming back to work, with two kids at home, was just not going to work out.  I got asked if I would like to stay full-time, and of course I JUMPED at the opportunity.  I cannot tell you how completely satisfying it is to go to work again at a job that I really, really enjoy.  I feel challenged, productive, and even better, appreciated.

See, everything has a way of working out in the end.

So what is it I am doing?  I am now the production manager on 4 large Canadian magazines: Canadian Family, Fashion, Wedding Bells & Mariage Quebec.

2 thoughts on “Why losing my job was the best thing that could have happened to me

Leave a Reply

