Leftovers

Despite the title, this is not a post about turkey and mashed potato’s.

When you move into a previously loved home you discover things the longer you live there.  Things that are broken, things that were covered up (like how they let their daughter paint words on her walls with puffy paint, in the right light, all I can see is the word Fabulous and LOL in one of the spare bedrooms) and things that they left behind.  We have an old drop leaf table of theirs which I am going to re-do in the spring, Scott threw out probably 20 old light fixtures, and we found an old pair of ladies white ice skates.  Scott was about to toss them, when a light-bulb went on in my head.  No, it wasn’t, hey you might finally nail that triple axle that has always eluded you, it was, hey you could turn these into a Christmas decoration.

Before

Add some time, glitter and ribbon.  Subtract the thoughts of, I should really be cleaning the bathrooms.

And this is the end result.

After

Not bad for a total of $8.00. If you subtract the cost of the house which included the skates.

I plan on spending more time on here in 2012.  There will be lots to share, I’m taking on a photo 365 project and will share my pictures with comments weekly.  My cousin Amanda is also getting married and has asked me to be a part of her bridal party, and my little brother got engaged on Christmas eve (or day, not sure of the details) to his beautiful and sweet girlfriend Monica in Brasil, so depending on when they set the date for, there may be some amazing opportunities for travel stories to be shared! Oh, my best friend is also expecting a baby, and everyone loves pictures of babies!!

We also plan on getting off our septic tank and hooking up to the city sewer, but I promise not to bore you with the details of that!!

Hope everyone, or anyone, who’s still visiting here had an amazing Christmas, and I wish you nothing but the absolute best for 2012~

Leave a Reply

