Desserts for the Deserving

What a wonderful idea.

Amanda of ‘I am Baker’ started this based on the following:

Desserts for the Deserving was established in 2011 with the sole purpose of bringing people joy.  It is a non-profit movement where bloggers, bakers, crafters, and all forms of creative people offer up time and resources to bring strangers joy.

I took part in this last year when Amanda put out the call for volunteers, which you can read about here in ‘A Random Act of Cookie’.  It was such a little thing, but it really made me feel like I was putting some good karma out into the world.  So when the call came out this year for volunteers, I jumped at the chance to participate again.  Now, because I had just finished MULTIPLE orders of sugar cookies, I really needed a break from making them.  As much as I love decorating them, we had some huge issues at our house, our basement flooded & we found lots of lovely black mold, and I wasn’t really in the mood to make even more of a mess.  So I decided to make another time-tested favourite, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.
Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350F
2. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars.  Beat in egg and vanilla extract.
3. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder.  Add to butter mixture and stir until almost combined.  Add oats and chocolate chips and stir until everything is fully combined.
4. Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto an ungreased cookies sheet (I line mine with parchment to save on clean-up).  Leave 2 inches between cookies, they will spread as they bake.
5. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are golden and tops are lightly browned.
6. Cool for 5 minutes on sheet before moving to wire rack to cool completely, be sure to sample at least 4 while they are still warm 😉

I had been selected to send these yummy treats to two separate nominees:

I would like to nominate Sam. Through the ups and downs, the good and the bad he has always stuck by my side. He is always there to help those who need it most even though he is having some hardships himself. He has gone through a lot with struggles at work and other family issues so I would love to brighten his day with a little something sweet! 

I would like to nominate a good friend of mine, Melissa. She works and studies full-time and to make things more complicated has lost both of her parents over the last year. I am not there to give her a hug, but she more than deserves one; she is caring and sweet and would go out of her way to make someone else’s day brighter.

I hope both Sam & Melissa enjoy the treats when they arrive, they should be getting them anytime now, and I would like to thank Amanda for allowing me to be a part of such a wonderful group of bakers!  I can’t wait to be able to take part in this again, it’s a little thing, that may just help someone out in a big way!

If you would like to read about more bakers who took part in this, check out the Desserts for the Deserving Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

